Junior Awards Dinner Ceremony – November 2023

Nov 28, 2023 | Junior Sailing

The NYC Junior Awards Ceremony took place at the National Yacht Club on Saturday 25th November. The awards night is the evening when our juniors traditionally take over the club.

This is when the achievements of our juniors in summer courses and in National and international events are acknowledged marking the end of the junior sailing season.

In addition, the evening is an opportunity to thank all our instructors and assistant instructors for their great work over the summer and to acknowledge the huge effort they make in ensuring that our young sailors have a fun summer course whilst nurturing a life long love of sailing in a safe environment.

It is also an event when parents can get together. Last Saturday the JB room was buzzing with  parents whilst upstairs the dining room was filled with our juniors.

The evening started for the juniors with spot prizes followed by dinner for both juniors and parents. After the meal, our instructors organised a table quiz with prizes to let the relaxation last a bit longer for the parents. And to finish, there was a selection box for ‘everyone in the audience’ to start the Christmas festivities.

Thanks to all the staff of the NYC, especially John, Cormac, Edel, Oonagh and Thomas, for their support with hosting all the juniors upstairs and parents downstairs over 137 in total. It all ran smoothly.

The awards ceremony then began with a total of 117 recipients receiving prizes. We celebrated our juniors’ performance in summer courses to Optimist, Topper, ILCA , Feva and 29er Fleets in National and International events with a further mention for our Juniors participating in other Fleets RS Aero,Waszps and Mirrors and also  Maria Butler who is in Rio representing Ireland in the World Junior Surfing Championships. In addition, we awarded special individual awards. We also recognised our SI Nicola Ferguson for her huge efforts this summer together with all our NYC instructors and assistants. The final part of the ceremony was the trophy ceremony to present special awards to sailors across the Junior Section.

 This year the 29er Fleet had phenomenal success at International and National events with Clementine and Nathan van Steenberge World champions, Ethan Spain and Ben O’Shaugnessy, European Champions and Lucia Cullen and Alannah Twomey, Ladies European Champions and 4th Ladies at Worlds both Ben and Ethan and Lucia and Alannah have been selected as part of team Ireland at the youth worlds in Brazil in December.

Because of their exceptional successes the Cathy Mac Aleavey award for sailors who have achieved the most in 2023 was awarded to our NYC Juniors   Clementine van Steenberge, Ethan Spain, Ben O Shaughnessy, and Lucia Cullen .

The evening wrapped up with a raffle in aid of the RNLI. Thank you to Aoife Hofler for organising the raffle and super prizes from our sponsors:

  • RTE
  • Spotify
  • The Irish Times
  • Newstalk
  • Javelin


Thanks to our head coach Thomas Chaix for all the organising and support he has contributed to our Junior Section this year and for his help and support for the Awards ceremony and to Aoife, Evelyn and Henrietta for all their help with the evening thanks also to Thomas and Nicola for the slide show of our wonderful sailors. Thanks also to Rosemarie Cadogan our Vice Commodore for attending the prizegiving and to Michael Chester for the amazing photographs of the evening.

Thanks also to all the hard working and dedicated Junior Committee Henrietta Senkowsky, Evelyn Mc Daid, Aoife Hofler, Flor Dion, Aileen Dempsey, Des Fitzgerald, Ross Gorman, Alex Walsh, David Whelan and Ronan Verling for ensuring our young sailors had a great 2023.

May this joyful season greet you with health and happiness. Wishing you and your families a very Merry Christmas and every best wish for 2024.

(Rebecca Hall, NYC Junior Organiser)


The list of the prize winners is below.

  Summer Course 2023 Achievement Awards

Most Improved Taste of Sailing – Jodie Hall

Most Improved Start Sailing – Katie Wynne, Charlotte and Isobel Jowers Kearns, Elodie Chapman

Most Improved Basic Skills – Jonah Carroll, Jessica Liddy, Fiadh Carty

Most Improved Improving Skills – Dylan Hall, Hugo Smyth, Caoileann Fitzpatrick

Most Improved Advanced Boat Handling – Jamie McCarthy, Jack Gorman

Most Improved Racing – Eabha Brennan Hobbs, Mark Fitzgerald, Felicia de Vreeze

Most Improved Adventure – Daniel Blake Hickey, James Hall

Most Improved J80s – Lizzie Hall

Most Improved Feva Helms and Crews – Daniel Burns, John Healy, Adam Smyth, Thomas O’Brien

Most Improved Toppers –  Matthew Duffy, Amelia Chapman


Trophy Ceremony

 Regatta Fleet

3rd Prize – Michael Hanley

2nd Prize – Josephine Dion

3rd Prize – Eabha Brennan Hobbs


Junior Optimist Fleet

3rd prize – Alex Butcher (3rd ranked NYC sailor)

2nd Prize – Aurele Dion(2nd ranked NYC sailor)Trophy


Cullen Cup –  Basile Dion (1st Ranked NYC sailor)

Senior Optimist Fleet

 3rd Prize in the senior fleet  – Mathew Holden

2nd Prize  – Louise Hanley

Ferguson Cup – Gemma Brady – Highest ranked NYC sailor

 Optimist Helmsman Cup for International Events

Gemma Brady


3RD Daniel Burns and John Healy

2nd Grace Keating and Hannah Walsh


Double Hander Trophy (Feva) (Plaque)

Felix Dion and Lucas Browne


3rd Place Grace Keating

2nd Place Kate Kenny

Cooney Cup

Topper Trophy

Rory Brennan Hobbs


Laser Fleet 

Laser 4.7

3rd Place Lizzie Hall  

2nd Place James Hall Top Nyc sailor in Laser 4.7 in Youth Nationals 2023 (Simon Coate Cup)

Laser 4.7 Trophy ( Donal Loghlan O’Sullivan Cup )

James Gorman

Lynch Cup

(Laser radial Cup)

Sam Le Doux 


 29er Fleet

van Steenberge Cup

Clementine van Steenberge

Ben O Shaughnessy and Ethan Spain

Lucia Cullen and Alannah Twomey


Shanahan Cup

(The most helpful assistant and TY sailor 2023)

Bella Gorman

McDonald Trophy

(The most helpful Junior during the summer courses 2023– always ready to volunteer to help)

Emily Liddy

Cathy McAleavey Trophy

This award is given to the sailors that has achieved the most in 2023

Clementine van Steenberge

Ben O’Shaughnessy and Ethan Spain

Lucia Cullen

Rickard Cup

Ellen Madigan


James Fitzgerald.

Junior Slide Show



Related News

Pin It on Pinterest